Isabel the Fair

by

3.50 · 2 ratings · Published: Apr 12th, 1957 {{ book.ratingTitle }}
"Turns a brilliant light on one of the lustiest and one of the most dramatic periods of English history." - Philadelphia Inquirer

Isabel the Fair, so called because of her beauty, the daughter of King Philip of France, seemed to have the perfect life as wife of Edward II of England.

But nothing in the Plantagenet court was as it seemed.

Their marriage would prove to be the undoing of both of them.

Edward loved no one more than Piers Gaveston, the Earl of Cornwall.

Isabel finds herself taking a backseat to the two lovers, a position that did not sit well with the beautiful and resentful Isabel, whose only desire had been to have a happy marriage.

This love triangle would lead England to civil war…

And Isabel would come to be known as “The She-Wolf of England.”

Fans of Allison Weir and Philippa Gregory are sure to love Margaret Campbell Barnes’ Isabel the Fair along with her many other historical novels set during the Plantagenet and Tudor reigns.

Praise for Isabel the Fair:

"Margaret Campbell Barnes has added brilliant hues to a picture which never lacked in color." - Vancouver (BC) Daily Province

"Immensely entertaining and absorbing." - Chicago Tribune

"Turns a brilliant light on one of the lustiest and one of the most dramatic periods of English history." - Philadelphia Inquirer

"Barnes has a way with words and I love some of her descriptions of the time and place. " - So Many Precious Books, So Little Time

"Campbell Barnes' writing and story telling shine. " - The Literate Housewife

Margaret Campbell Barnes was one of the most popular historical novelists of her time. She wrote over a dozen novels and over two million copies of her books were sold. While little is known of her personal life, her books had a wide readership in her time and are experiencing a resurge of popularity today.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent digital publisher. For more information on our titles please sign up to our newsletter at www.endeavourpress.com. Each week you will receive updates on free and discounted ebooks. Follow us on Twitter: @EndeavourPress and on Facebook via http://on.fb.me/1HweQV7. We are always interested in hearing from our readers. Endeavour Press believes that the future is now.

This book has not been tagged with topics yet.
Add topics


Add relevant topics

Sponsored links

Reviews

Your review · · Edit
Featured review

{{ book.individualComment.data.text }}
Please give the book a rating as well. Thank you! Post as

Community reviews

  • {{comment.user.username}} rated it {{comment.createdAt | elapsedTime}} Promote De-Promote
    Featured review
    Reply
    • {{reply.user.username}} {{reply.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
      {{reply.data.text}}
  • {{review.blogger.name}} rated it {{review.published | elapsedTime}}
  • Be the first to leave a review.
Show more reviews