The Child of Auschwitz

by

4.00 · 1 ratings · Published: Nov 8th, 2019 {{ book.ratingTitle }}
‘She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth.’

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier.

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand...

As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams – Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy…

But when Eva realises she is pregnant she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can.

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

Readers are captivated by Lily Graham’s writing:

‘Absolutely one of the best books I have read … Lily Graham has written one of the best books of the year in my honest opinion! If I could have given this a higher rating that 5 stars I would have done so … truly an unforgettable story!’ Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Warning! This book will make you cry ... The most moving story I’ve read in a long while… I have not wept so much in a while… I fell in love … by the end I was smiling and crying. I was an emotional mess all round really .’ The Book Trail , ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I was hooked … a beautiful story… absolutely amazing!… truly beautiful… even though I did spend most of the time blubbering into my tissues!Stardust Book Reviews , ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Hands down one of the best books I've read in a long time . This story hooks you immediately, one cannot put it down. I even dreamed about the book ! Absolutely love it!’ 5 stars – Goodreads Reviewer, ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Beautiful, just beautiful… one of my favourite books of all time . Just, wow.’ The Writing Garnet

‘Gorgeous; reminding me of a Kate Morton novel… I had a difficult time wanting to put down this book most nights; staying up into the wee hours of the morning … this stunning book was a perfect summer read, and I relished every page.

This book has not been tagged with topics yet.
Add topics


Add relevant topics

Sponsored links

Reviews

Your review · · Edit
Featured review

{{ book.individualComment.data.text }}
Please give the book a rating as well. Thank you! Post as

Community reviews

  • {{comment.user.username}} rated it {{comment.createdAt | elapsedTime}} Promote De-Promote
    Featured review
    Reply
    • {{reply.user.username}} {{reply.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
      {{reply.data.text}}
  • {{review.blogger.name}} rated it {{review.published | elapsedTime}}
  • Be the first to leave a review.
Show more reviews

You'll also like:

Add topics to the book to find similar books