The Forgotten Girls

by

4.00 · 1 ratings · Published: Feb 13th, 2020 {{ book.ratingTitle }}
Two women from very different times, linked by a single, powerful photograph of two lost little girls . A moving tale of love and the power of hope in war’s darkest moments, inspired by an incredible true story.

London, 1943 . Elaine Parker works as a clerical assistant for the government, transcribing letters from POWs in the hope of finding secret messages to help the war effort. Danger is all around, but dancing and revelry go on behind blackout curtains each night. One evening, Elaine meets famous war photographer Robert Capa and is immediately drawn to him and the haunting photos he takes. Their connection feels so strong, but Bobby's work is risky, and Elaine has growing troubles of her own at home… while her country is gripped by war, can she afford the price she is being asked to pay for happiness?

Present day . Even the kiss of warm sunshine and the musical call of birds at her family’s countryside villa can’t make forty-four-year-old Jen forget the doomed marriage she’s left behind. That is, until her brother begins to investigate the origins of a tattered family photograph : two sweet little girls gazing out across a sparkling bay, their eyes clear and hopeful – looking for all the world as if they hadn’t witnessed the most terrible war to ever touch England. What is the story behind the picture, and could it finally be the key to mending the cracks in Jen’s own past?

A heartbreaking World War Two novel – emotional and unforgettable . Perfect for fans of Orphan Train , Sold on a Monday and Before We Were Yours .

What readers are saying about Lizzie Page…
' Brought me to tears… The story has plenty of twists and turns … If you like romantic historical fiction, particularly which is set in wartime, then this is the book for you! This, at times, bought tears to my eyes and equally a warm glow to my heart .’ Stardust Book Reviews

‘Lizzie Page has gone and done it again with this beautiful, poignant and immensely emotional storyShe is by far one of my favourite authors … I absolutely love how this is written, Lizzie you have blown me away with your beautiful words, wonderful imagination and emotional story … It is a lovingly written story that has real heart , and one that I cannot recommend enough.’ Chicks Rogues and Scandals , 5 stars

I loved it!... I adore Lizzie Page’s writing and the way she so brilliantly blends fact and fiction.' Jill Mansell, Sunday Times bestselling author

This book was hard to put downOne of the best historical fiction books I've read in a very long time .’ Shelly’s Book Nook , 5 stars

‘Page is a wonderful writer , one that draws me in to the story completely and utterly ... by the end of the first chapter I thought to myself that I was going to love this book … wonderful characters… brilliantly plotted with a delightfully intertwined story, it has the heartbreak of war and a gorgeous love storyfantastic .

This book has not been tagged with topics yet.
Add topics


Add relevant topics

Sponsored links

Reviews

Your review · · Edit
Featured review

{{ book.individualComment.data.text }}
Please give the book a rating as well. Thank you! Post as

Community reviews

  • {{comment.user.username}} rated it {{comment.createdAt | elapsedTime}} Promote De-Promote
    Featured review
    Reply
    • {{reply.user.username}} {{reply.createdAt | elapsedTime}}
      {{reply.data.text}}
  • {{review.blogger.name}} rated it {{review.published | elapsedTime}}
  • Be the first to leave a review.
Show more reviews