Hainish Cycle Series by Ursula K. Le Guin

4.00 · 60 ratings
  • Planet of Exile (Hainish Cycle #2)

    Planet of Exile (Hainish Cycle #2)

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    · 16 ratings · published 1996

    The Earth colony of Landin has been stranded on Werel for ten years--& ten of Werel's years are over 600 terrestrial years. The lonely & dwindling human settlement is beginning to feel the strain. Every winter--a season that lasts for 15 years--the Earthmen have neighbors: the humanoid hilfs, a nomadic people who only settle down for the cruel cold spell. The hilfs fear the Earthmen, whom they think of as witches & call the farborns... more

    Sponsored links
  • The Left Hand of Darkness (Hainish Cycle #4)

    The Left Hand of Darkness (Hainish Cycle #4)

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    · 30 ratings · published 2000

    A groundbreaking work of science fiction, The Left Hand of Darkness tells the story of a lone human emissary to Winter, an alien world whose inhabitants can choose -and change - their gender. His goal is to facilitate Winter's inclusion in a growing intergalactic civilization. But to do so he must bridge the gulf between his own views and those of the completely dissimilar culture that he encounters... more

  • The Birthday of the World and Other Stories (Hainish Cycle #10)

    The Birthday of the World and Other Stories (Hainish Cycle #10)

    Ursula K. Le Guin

    · 14 ratings · published 2003

    The recipient of numerous literary prizes, including the National Book Award, the Kafka Award, five Hugo Awards and five Nebula Awards, the renowned writer Ursula K. Le Guin has, in each story and novel, created a provocative, ever-evolving universe filled with diverse worlds and rich characters reminiscent of our earthly selves... more

Find similar series to Hainish Cycle  ❯