The Pledge Series by Kimberly Derting

3.79 · 60 ratings
  • The Pledge (The Pledge #1)

    The Pledge (The Pledge #1)

    Kimberly Derting

    · 26 ratings · published 2013

    In the violent country of Ludania, the classes are strictly divided by the language they speak. The smallest transgression, like looking a member of a higher class in the eye while they are speaking their native tongue, results in immediate execution. Seventeen-year-old Charlaina has always been able to understand the languages of all classes, and she's spent her life trying to hide her secret... more

    Sponsored links
  • The Essence (The Pledge #2)

    The Essence (The Pledge #2)

    Kimberly Derting

    · 18 ratings · published 2013

    “Danger, dread, mystery, and romance” (Booklist) continue in the second book of The Pledge trilogy, as Charlie’s reign is under siege from the most unusual of enemies. At the luminous conclusion of The Pledge, Charlaina defeated the tyrant Sabara and took her place as Queen of Ludania. But Charlie knows that Sabara has not disappeared: The evil queen’s Essence is fused to Charlie’s psyche, ready to arise at the first sign of weakness. Charlie is not weak, but she’s being pushed to the brink... more

  • The Offering (The Pledge #3)

    The Offering (The Pledge #3)

    Kimberly Derting

    · 16 ratings · published 2013

    True love—and world war—is at stake in the conclusion to The Pledge trilogy, a dark and romantic blend of dystopia and fantasy. Charlie, otherwise known as Queen Charlaina of Ludania, has become comfortable as a leader and a ruler. She’s done admirable work to restore Ludania’s broken communications systems with other Queendoms, and she’s mastered the art of ignoring Sabara, the evil former queen whose Essence is alive within Charlie. Or so she thinks... more

Find similar series to The Pledge  ❯