Shabanu Series by Suzanne Fisher Staples

3.80 · 40 ratings
  • Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind (Shabanu #1)

    Shabanu: Daughter of the Wind (Shabanu #1)

    Suzanne Fisher Staples

    · 18 ratings · published 2012

    Life is both sweet and cruel to strong-willed young Shabanu, whose home is the windswept Cholistan Desert of Pakistan. The second daughter in a family with no sons, she' s been allowed freedoms forbidden to most Muslim girls. But when a tragic encounter with a wealthy and powerful landowner ruins the marriage plans of her older sister, Shabanu is called upon to sacrifice everything she' s dreamed of... more

    Sponsored links
  • Haveli (Shabanu #2)

    Haveli (Shabanu #2)

    Suzanne Fisher Staples

    · 14 ratings · published 2012

    The world of Newbery Honor book "Shabanu" is vividly re-created in this novel of a young Pakistani woman's heartbreaking struggle against the tyranny of custom and ancient law. Shabanu, now a mother at 18, faces daily challenges to her position in her husband's household, even as she plans for her young daughter's education and uncertain future... more

  • The House of Djinn (Shabanu #3)

    The House of Djinn (Shabanu #3)

    Suzanne Fisher Staples

    · 8 ratings · published 2012

    It has been ten years since Shabanu staged her death to secure the safety of her daughter, Mumtaz, from her husband’s murderous brother. Mumtaz has been raised by her father’s family with the education and security her mother desired for her, but with little understanding and love. Only her American cousin Jameel, her closest confidant and friend, and the beloved family patriarch, Baba, understand the pain of her loneliness... more

Find similar series to Shabanu  ❯