The Midwives Series by Laurie Alice Eakes

3.89 · 30 ratings
  • Lady in the Mist (The Midwives #1)

    Lady in the Mist (The Midwives #1)

    Laurie Alice Eakes

    · 16 ratings · published 2011

    By virtue of her profession as a midwife, Tabitha Eckles is the keeper of many secrets: the names of fathers of illegitimate children, the level of love and harmony within many a marriage, and now the identity of a man who may have caused his wife's death. Dominick Cherrett is a man with his own secret to keep: namely, what he, a British nobleman, is doing on American soil working as a bondsman in the home of Mayor Kendall, a Southern gentleman with his eye on a higher office... more

    Sponsored links
  • Heart's Safe Passage (The Midwives #2)

    Heart's Safe Passage (The Midwives #2)

    Laurie Alice Eakes

    · 8 ratings · published 2012

    It's 1813 and all Phoebe Lee wants out of life is to practice midwifery in Loudon County, Virginia. When Belinda, her pregnant sister-in-law, presses Phoebe to accompany her onto a British privateer in order to cross the Atlantic and save her husband from an English prison, Phoebe tries to refuse, then finds herself kidnapped. Captain Rafe Docherty is a man in search of revenge... more

  • Choices of the Heart (The Midwives #3)

    Choices of the Heart (The Midwives #3)

    Laurie Alice Eakes

    · 6 ratings · published 2013

    Esther Cherrett comes from a proud line of midwives and was trained by her mother to take over the family calling. But when a scandal threatens all she holds dear, Esther takes a position as a teacher in the western mountains of Virginia instead. There she finds herself in the midst of a deadly family feud and courted by two men on opposite sides of the conflict. When it seems as though her past has followed her all the way into the mountains, all she wants is to run away again... more

Find similar series to The Midwives  ❯