Islam Quintet Series by Tariq Ali

3.73 · 36 ratings
  • Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree (Islam Quintet #1)

    Shadows of the Pomegranate Tree (Islam Quintet #1)

    Tariq Ali

    · 16 ratings · published 1992

    Tariq Ali tells us the story of the aftermath of the fall of Granada by narrating a family saga of those who tried to survive after the collapse of their world. Ali is particularly deft at evoking what life must have been like for those doomed inhabitants, besieged on all sides by intolerant Christendom. "This is a novel that have something to say, and says it well." --"The""Guardian"

    Sponsored links
  • The Book of Saladin: A Novel (Islam Quintet #2)

    The Book of Saladin: A Novel (Islam Quintet #2)

    Tariq Ali

    · 12 ratings · published 1998

    Tariq Ali has been a British national treasure for almost five decades. Revolutionary, writer, broadcaster, filmmaker, polemicist--fighter in the street--and general all-round trouble-maker (in the nicest possible sense), he's been them all, and usually at the same time. Since 1990 Ali has also worked in fiction, firstly with Redemption , and now with a planned quartet of historical novels, of which The Book of Saladin is the second... more

  • A Sultan in Palermo (Islam Quintet #4)

    A Sultan in Palermo (Islam Quintet #4)

    Tariq Ali

    · 8 ratings · published 1980

    The fourth novel in Tariq Ali's Islam Quintet charts the life and loves of the medieval cartographer Muhammed al-Idrisi. Torn between his close friendship with the sultan and his friends who are leaving the island or plotting a resistance to Norman rule, Idrisi finds temporary solace in the harem; but his conscience is troubled...A Sultan in Palermo is a mythic novel in which pride, greed, and lust intermingle with resistance and greatness. It echoes a past that can still be heard today.

Find similar series to Islam Quintet  ❯